Opening Hours

The Waterloo Practice

Day Opening hours
Saturday 20 April
Closed
Sunday 21 April
Closed
Monday 22 April
8am to 6:30pm
Tuesday 23 April
8am to 6:30pm
Wednesday 24 April
8am to 8pm
Thursday 25 April
8am to 6:30pm
Friday 26 April
8am to 6:30pm

Extended Hours

One evening a week we offer appointments from 18:30 to 20:00. These appointments can be booked up to 4 weeks in advance. Reception staff can provide you with dates of when these evening appointments are available. However, please note limited reception services are available during these extended hours.

Consultation Times

In addition to their usual consultation times, 5 clinicans including doctors, nurses or healthcare assistants will sit on one evening a week from 18:30 to 20:00 to offer out of hours appointments. We hope that these evening appointments will allow our patients who have commitments during the day, a more convenient option for attending an appointment. Reception staff can provide you with dates of when these evening appointments are available. However, please note limited reception services are available during these extended hours.

*Times below are subject to alteration.

Bringing samples to surgery

Please can we ask that routine samples are brought to the surgery before 12pm on a Friday. Those brought after have to be kept over the weekend and this can cause a false result. If however, you have urinary tract infection symptoms please do still call us and we will advise best course of action.

closed

Bank Holiday Closures 2024- 2025

The practice will be closed on the following bank holidays:

 

Upcoming bank holidays in England and Wales 2024

Friday 29th March (Good Friday)

Monday 1st April (Easter Monday)

Monday 6th May (Early May Bank Holiday)

Monday 27th May (Spring bank holiday)

Monday 26th August (Summer bank holiday)

Wednesday 25th December (Christmas Day)

Thursday 26th December (Boxing Day)

Wednesday 1st January 2025 (New Year’s Day)

Practice protected time

Closure Afternoons 2024

The practice will close at 1pm on the following days for training purposes and re-open the following morning at 8am.

 

Tuesday 30th Januuary 2024

Tuesday 20th February 2024

Tuesday 19th March 2024

Tuesday 16th April 2024

Tuesday 21st May 2024

Tuesday 25th June 2024

Tuesday 16th July 2024

Tuesday 20th August 2024

Tuesday 17th September 2024

Tuesday 15th October 2024

Tuesday 19th November 2024

Tuesday 3rd December 2024

 

When We Are Closed

When the practice is closed telephone Freephone 111 to contact a doctor.

Repeat medication can be ordered and appointments can still be cancelled when the practice is closed by telephoning the normal practice number and selecting option 3 for repeat prescriptions and option 5 for cancelling appointments.

Greater Huddersfield Clinical Commissioning Group is responsible for commissioning Doctor Services between the hours of 18:30 and 08:00 Monday to Friday, over weekends and on Bank Holidays.

Please do not ask to see a doctor out of hours unless you genuinely cannot wait until the surgery re-opens.

Call 999 in an emergency. Chest pains and/or shortness of breath constitute as an emergency.

a group of people sitting in chairs

NHS 111

111 online is a fast and convenient alternative to the 111 phone service and provides an option for people who want to access 111 digitally. 

Your needs will be assessed and you will be given advice about whether you need:

  • Treat yourself at home
  • Go to a Primary Care Centre

If you need face to face medical attention you may be asked to attend a Primary Care Centre.

Click here to access NHS 111 online or call 111 to speak to a staff member.